Telecommunications Industry Ombudsman: 2013 - 2014 Annual Report
Contact us
Contact us

Governance transition

In June 2012, the TIO Board and Council established a Transition Committee to recommend a unitary governance model for the TIO.

The Transition Committee

The Committee is made up of two Directors (Jules Scarlett and Steve Dalby) and two Council members (Teresa Corbin and Chris Dodds).

It took advice from experts on best practice governance models and consulted with government, consumer and industry bodies. Taking into account their views, the Committee recommended forming a new TIO Ltd Board to replace the existing Board and Council.

To ensure balance, the Committee recommended the final Board should be made up of nine directors, with an equal number of industry and consumer members. The Committee also recommended there be an independent Chair and two independent directors, one with corporate governance experience and one with not-for-profit governance experience.

It is proposed that some current members of the TIO Board and Council will continue on the new Board to ensure governance continuity.

Next steps

The recommendations were endorsed by the TIO Council on 30 April 2013 and by the Board on 16 May 2013. The proposed structure must also be put to TIO members for a vote. This is most likely to occur in early 2014.